I have no doubt it says something about the state of my dishwasher, plumbing, and mind that when I started my day Wednesday morning by opening the dishwasher to unload it, I saw bright yellow something or other clogging the dishwasher drain in the bottom. Retrieving what turned out to be paper, I saw immediately that it was the remnants of a recent to-do list that had been sitting on the counter for a few days. Always good to start a day with a laugh.

I read tips for organizing one’s brain, business, and home often enough, but have never come upon the one I’m about to give you: When “cleaning up” after dinner, do not place dirty dishes on top of the piles of paper on your countertop–unless you want to wind up all washed up. Or hung out to dry….  And I think I deserve extra points for a partially rhymed to-do list.

Image

