Now that a partner and I have started  REAL RICHMOND, bringing food tours (and more–just you wait) to yummy Richmond, VA, it might make sense for me to impress upon you how much of a foodie I really am. 

Perhaps I should take photos of the contents of my refrigerator or the fresh produce rotting on my kitchen counter or the kitchen garden overrun by the neighbor’s feral cat colony.  If you’re a loyal reader, you know you don’t want to see what’s under my stove though it’s much cleaner than it was before the floor refinishing guy needed the high voltage plug there last month.

So what’s a fake foodie to do? Impress you with my latest baking feat. For the pal who designed Real Richmond’s so cool logo, I baked a six layer version of Thalhimer’s yellow cake with chocolate icing. 

Dig In! Get it?

I’d give you the recipe, but the icing recipe was all wrong and only turned out ok after extreme husband intervention.  The thing looked impressive, weighed more than me, and tasted damned good. It’s too bad it is poison. I was happy to see the leftovers go out the door. Something weird has happened to me.

Still, my tastebuds are particular enough that it occurred to me as I was concocting my latest batch of trail mix (lightly salted cashews, Craisins, and Ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate chips), that I can tell the difference between the trail mix I painstakingly mix in a plastic baggie and leave on the counter and the trail mix I mix in my mouth. Chucking cashews, chocolate chips and Craisins a couple (or handful) at a time into my mouth when I’m in a rush for a rush just doesn’t pass muster.  Don’t worry–I won’t be offering samples of that on a food tour.

