While chatting with my friends at Webbones yesterday, Stephanie made an off-hand comment about Oct. 23rd being the drop-dead date for a project of mine. Ha Ha. Funny she should put it that way. It is true that Oct. 23rd at noon is my first book-signing/meet the author event at Fountain Bookstore and afterwards I’ll be leading the inaugural (and FREE!) Real Richmond  food tour through the highs and lows of Richmond history in Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom, and the edge of Church Hill, but where’s the near-death experience in that?

Oct. 22nd is more likely my drop-dead date since that’s when, at 3 p.m., to be exact, I’m scheduled to go Over the Edge and rappel from the top of the almost 400 ft tall SunTrust building for Richmond Magazine as part of a Virginia Special Olympics extreme fundraiser. I had several good looks at the building while I lounged on various hills during the Folk Festival, and it doesn’t look so tall from that distance. Up close is another story. 

The top is there somewhere

Of course, it is the second tallest building in Richmond, but I think it’s better if I shrink it down to something more manageable. No biggie, so to speak.

So why worry about what I’m supposed to do Oct. 23rd, when it could all be a moot (and messy) point.  I would be sad to miss InLight the night of Oct. 22nd though.

