A parlor game I play these days is making up tourism slogans for Richmond because Easy to Love just doesn’t say anything particularly compelling.  After another dispiriting article in yesterday’s Times Dispatch where city and county planners didn’t have anything nice to say about the suburbs, yet more of them mentioned Hanover County (and Henrico and Chesterfield) than the city(perhaps because 1/10 of the planners were from Hanover), my friend Leigh Ann suggested Richmond, the thinking person’s Mechanicsville.  We should trademark it immediately.  The best suggestion from the VCU class mentioned in the article was to put a big ole Hanover tomato sculpture along I-95. Then we could start the debate about what would represent the other “soulless suburbs.” That would be so much fun. Sprawl as art. Hmm.  I’d like to see a big Robert Indiana HERE in Richmond and There? for the counties.

In an actual example of a no-brainer, I’ve crafted a sure-fire slogan for Richmond: Hey, Everybody! Richmond isn’t on the worst cities for bedbugs list!!!!   It’s true. But I warn you, just clicking here will make you itchy and give you the heebeejeebees, if not bedbug bites per se.

