The doldrums of August are upon us–or at least me. What better time to sip sangria and watch a zombie movie made right here at various locations in Richmond and at Grayhaven Winery in Goochland County? 

If I told you everything I know about this movie, I'd have to kill you.

I almost included the following juicy bit in Insiders\’ Guide to Richmond, coming out Sept. 15th, but did not in the end, so here’s an insider’s tip from the outside looking in: 

In 2007, Grayhaven Winery was overrun by zombies during the shooting of the independent film, Attack of the Vegan Zombies! Remarkably, everyone survived though the zombies did develop a thirst for the wine. Don’t be surprised to see the zombies return again as showings of the film crop up (a very punny, if not necessarily funny, pun) around the area, including at the Byrd Theatre in Carytown. For updates, check out www.attackoftheveganzombies.com.

The killer instinct runs in the family....

It’s truly frightening how much of an insider I was, conjuring up nuanced and nutty nuggets about Richmond like that–and leaving some of them out.  Next month you can judge whether I saved the best for the blog or the book.

