I don’t want to brag but yesterday my husband and I ran the Ukrop’s Monument Ave. 10k and beat all of the women age 9 and under. It really did feel great to walk by the VCU Sports Medicine building on my way to and fro the race and remember that just last year people had to drive me here for appointments with my favorite orthopedic surgeon after my ACL reconstruction. Excellent work all. 

it's more fun to come here not on crutches

As proof of my complete recovery due to the excellent rehab work of the VCU Physical Therapy gals at Stony Point, for the first time ever, I outran a tornado and this awesome gal in a bathrobe and curlers.

looking good

And the best part was that I was running backwards when I took the shot and didn’t trip. I wanted to beat the Confederacy once and for all when I saw a big group of southern belles and generals running ahead, but I honestly don”t know the outcome. 

I did take inspiration from Arthur Ashe as I passed by the statue of him on the way back to the finish–Hard Road to Glory is right. Next year a group of people should dress up as his monument with a very tall Ashe impersonator threatening children with a tennis racket and books. Could be dangerous. It’s too bad it’s the worst statue of the best guy on Monument Avenue. Which brings me to my next point.

In the wake of Ukrop’s disappearing from the storefronts of Richmond in the next couple of months, let’s lobby for a statue of a Ukrop’s courtesy clerk on Monument Ave. Or a Christo-like art event that drapes the city in chicken salad or White House rolls. Either that or let’s get Robert Indiana to whip up an iconic version of the word Ukrop’s like his famous LOVE sculpture.  Gotta LOVE it. Or if he’s not so interested, #1 in the nation VCU sculpture department–get to work!

