I know it’s sad to come here and not see an Andy Goldsworthy video pop up. It’s just not the same without him. Maybe next time.

Instead, due to the combo of having Richmond history on the brain and spending yesterday and today visiting every area park I’ve never been to or hadn’t visited in a long time, I was taken by the sight of a football scoreboard at Point of Rocks park in Chesterfield (yes, it’s really called R. Garland Dodd Park at Point of Rocks, but that is just a terrible name).

wishful thinking perhaps

Don’t think that ever shows the real score. Christopher Newport and John Smith and their boys pretended to be “just visiting,” but we know how that turned out.  Despite all the southern hospitality heaped upon them by the native tribes, the English weren’t exactly the perfect guests. I suppose we really are the guests of the Indians, but I never expected Chesterfield County, of all places, to admit it.

