We were able to get a little sledding in Christmas day before the rain washed all the snow away. Not your typical Virginia Christmas.

just like the Rockies

Given that a year ago I tore two ligaments skiing Dec. 26th in Colorado–my Rocky Mountain low–it was with some trepidation that I found myself once again on a snow-covered hill the other day, wanting to go sledding but not wanting to be an idiot and get hurt.  But sledding is too much fun to leave to children even if our hill is peppered with stumps, stone stairs and trees that could snap all sorts of people’s limbs, a treacherous trek. After wimping out the first day, I got on my butt Christmas and sledded as slowly as is possible, using everything but my left leg as a brake. Not exactly what I had in mind when I wrote Going Downhill Fast for my RHome column, but I’m working on it.

