I would like to be able to say that the Gifford’s (www.giffords.com)  Hot Fudge Sauce I was so excited to buy last week at For the Love of Chocolate in Carytown takes me back to the days when I would greedily inhale the aroma in the (now long gone) Silver Spring Gifford’s while waiting for my hot fudge sundae with coffee chip ice cream. Alas, I cannot. It was not worth its weight in…weight.

Now it is possible that the hot fudge partaken of in an actual Gifford’s shop (now in D.C. and MD suburbs) could take me back, but the truth is my mother makes the best hot fudge sauce for my money. I substitute skim milk for the 1/2 and 1/2 and no one has complained here. So easy to whip up. Too bad the coffee chip ice cream isn’t.

Hot Fudge Sauce…

Heat in a small saucepan

1 oz. unsweetened chocolate

1 cup confectioner’s sugar

1/3 cup half  & half (or any sort of milk)

1 Tablespoon butter (but cheating with Smart Balance works, too)

Boil for 3 minutes. Take off heat and add 1/2  teaspoon vanilla extract. Let cool just a bit before scooping the ice cream and drizzling (or shoveling, as the case may be) it over the ice cream.  Savor, and thank me and Mary Louise.

